Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 20th, 2009

Chiles Asados

Tortilla Warmer with Serranos Roasting

 

Another staple in the Kauachi house. These are good on anything. They are especially good on a big fat juicy steak but they are, honest and for true, good on anything. I lived off of them in college. Chiles asados and a sleeve of saltines were routine fare for me. I had more important things to spend my money on like clothes, and beer. I know it’s crazy talk but it’s true.

 

Ingredients:

 

5-6 chiles, serranos or habaneros (or jalapenos if you’re a sissy)

2 really fresh limes

salt to taste

 

Roast your chiles until they are about 70%-80% charred. Cut off the stems and cut the chiles up in a small bowl. Squeeze the juice of both limes into the bowl. Add salt to taste. Take a fork and smoosh the chiles around in the lime juice. Serve as an accompaniment to anything: meats, veggies, eggs, pastas, tortillas, you name it.

 

 

Read Full Post »